The National share release date for Bon Iver collaboration ‘Weird Goodbyes’

The National have shared further details of their new single, ‘Weird Goodbyes’, featuring Bon Iver.

Pictures of posters advertising the new song began to circulate online, with the band later confirming their legitimacy by changing their cover photos on social media to include the same artwork.

Now The National have taken to Instagram to provide more information to fans, as well as a release date.

“Last spring, the band reconvened at Long Pond to begin writing and recording new music that we’ve been working on ever since,” the statement reads.

“‘Weird Goodbyes’ featuring Bon Iver felt like the right track to share first and is one of a handful of new songs we’ve been performing on tour this summer. We’re so grateful to our friend Justin Vernon for joining us on this song.”

The post also revealed that the single will be released worldwide at 9am PST / 12pm EST / 5pm UK on Monday, August 22. You can pre-save ‘Weird Goodbyes’ here.

The band have been performing ‘Weird Goodbyes’ live, sans the guest spot from Bon Iver – which, presumably, will comprise some of its lyrics being sung by Justin Vernon – since late May. They played it for the first time in Pamplona, Spain on May 28 – the first National show to go down in three years – where it was billed on the setlist as ‘Bathwater (Mount Auburn)’.

It’s been performed at seven show since, including this week’s headliner in Dillon, Colorado and at the Outlandia festival on Friday (August 12). The first show to have it printed on the setlist as ‘Weird Goodbyes’ was the Cooperstown, New York date of their current North American tour, which they played on July 20. They’ve been performing other new songs, too, including ones titled ‘Grease In Your Hair’ and ‘Space Invaders’.

Earlier this week, the band were joined at two shows by Bartees Strange, who delivered guest vocals on a rendition of ‘Mistaken For Strangers’. He teamed up with Matt Berninger and co. to perform the ‘Boxer’ standout at concerts in Calgary and Missoula, marking somewhat of a full-circle moment for Strange: before releasing his debut album (‘Live Forever’) in 2020, he dropped an EP of five National covers titled ‘Say Goodbye To Pretty Boy’.

The National’s last official release was their Cyrano soundtrack inclusion ‘Somebody Desperate’, which marked their first new song since 2019’s ‘I Am Easy To Find’ album.

You can view the original article HERE.

Even Though Lisa Rinna Was Promoting 818 Tequila On RHOBH, Kris Jenner Stood By Kathy Hilton
Jacob Batalon Describes Rooming With Tom Holland
‘Try Guys’ Speak Out About Ned Fulmer’s Firing After Cheating Scandal
Following Her Wedding, Alex Rodriguez Offered His Warmest Greetings To Jennifer Lopez
A Hilarious Skewering of Wealth, Class, & Gender Dynamics
Deadline Reports on Chaz Ebert Receiving FACETS Legend Award | Festivals & Awards
A Biting Satire On White-Collar Life
Jacob Batalon Accidentally Took his Girlfriend to No Way Home set on Maguire & Garfields First Day
Ozzy Osbourne goes behind-the-scenes of ‘One Of Those Days’ video
Garth Brooks looks back on friendship with Loretta Lynn after her death – Music News
“I just wish we hadn’t lost him this soon”
Dolly Parton leads tributes to Loretta Lynn – Music News
Fan not saying what he’ll do with Judge HR ball
Ex-NWSL commish: Made ‘best decisions I could’
Kawhi relishes return to NBA stage: ‘I missed it’
How to remove skin tags at home
Yellowstone Season 5 Trailer Shatters Records
Kelsey Grammer’s Frasier Sequel Series Is Officially Happening at Paramount+
La Brea Season 2 Episode 2 Review: The Cave
Chucky Creator Don Mancini on His Hopes for the Murderous Doll’s Future
Doja Cat Attends Thom Browne Spring 2023
The Wolk Morais Diary: A Transatlantic Crossing On The Queen Mary 2
Lesbian-Latina-Owned Brand JZD Now Available at Target
Daily News: Industry Rallies Around Gabriella Karefa-Johnson After Ye Trolls Her, Jonathan Simkhai Celebrates In Paris, Lil Nas X’s First Coach Campaign, Kaia x ZARA Available Now, And More